Advice Needed! Genesis Vs Airdry

Hi!
I know this has been asked a thousand times before, but I’m looking for some advice in regards to painting. I currently use Air-dry paints (SCN paints) and I’m really struggling with dust sticking to the vinyl. I’ve tried covering it after painting, putting it in a sealed box, I’ve even tried putting a bunch of balloons over my work space! It’s a nightmare to pick it out after I’ve spotted the bits and I know a lot of other people have this problem with Air-dry. Does this ever happen with the heat set paints? I’m fairly new at reborning, but I’m thinking about switching over as I’m on my 5th kit now, and the dust is infuriating!!
Thankyou in advance for any advise you could give me
-Rhe

I’ve found that they generally attract less dust, yes. For me it’s never been a reason to switch back to Genesis, though. I just make sure I take all the dust off before sealing.

1 Like

IDK what I’m doing different, but I’ve used air dry since day 1 and never had a problem with dust or lint.

1 Like

I’ve been painting with air dry paints for over 10 yrs and haven’t had a problem with dust. The only problem that I have had one time was using cheaply made brushes. I first thought it was large dust particles then realized it was the tip of the bristles from the bush that was breaking off and contaminating the paint. I threw away those brushes and watch what quality brushes I use.

2 Likes

Do you use a hair dryer on your pieces? I dry them right away so there is less time for paint to stick to wet paint. I also use puppy pads on my surface instead of paper towels. Then I fold it over when not in use. That has helped too.

1 Like